TNT Thursdays: Nerdy Music Videos Edition

Welcome to another rousing edition of TNT Thursdays, I’m your host, Miss Gosh-I-Really-Need-A-Life Rach! Today we will be delving into the fun world of music videos. From classics to mashups, parodies to original content, we’ve got you covered. So get those dance shoes on as we countdown our favourite nerdtastic music videos. 

10. Aca Top 10 – Video Games – VoicePlay

If you tuned in last week, I featured these guys so no surprise they are back on this list. Shout-out to Tony and my his awesome, Pikachu cap. Woah, it’s a top 10 within a top 10. Meta.

9. Dark Lord Funk – Harry Potter Parody of “Uptown Funk” – KFaceTV

JK Rowling gave her wand of approval for this hilariously entertaining parody of Bruno Mars’s hit song. Who knew He-Who-Must-Not-Be-Named had such sick moves.

8. The Avengers Theme – Taylor Davis

This will be the closest thing you’ll get to Black Widow playing the violin. And boy can she play. Taylor is an amazing musician. Sources say that you could name any obscure video game and Miss Davis could play it for you off the top of her head. I can recite the alphabet backwards. Yep, she’s infinitely more talented than I am.

7. White & Nerdy – Parody of “Ridin'” by Chamillionaire – “Weird Al” Yankovic

All hail, Parody King, Weird Al. Say what you want about the overused, nerd cliches, this is an anthem I would happily blast from the speakers of my Segway. Do Segways have speakers? Do they even make Segways anymore?

6. House of Cards – Tyler Shaw

Now I would be a very terrible Canadian if I didn’t feature at least one hometown artist in this list. Tyler’s video is centered around a masked Batman-esque vigilante and love *happy sigh*

5. Game of Thrones Medley – The Warp Zone

The wigs, I just can’t get over them. Also, I think Game of Thrones would be a lot less dark if everyone in Westeros just broke out into song every so often. Once more, with feeling!

4. Lord of the Rings – The Hobbit (Piano/Cello Cover) – The Piano Guys

Instant chills. Close your eyes and get transported to the magical world that Tolkien created.

3. Star Wars Gangsta Rap – BentTV

Let’s go back to the year 2000. Remember those pre-YouTube days? I do *quietly sobs* The best thing that happened at the dawn of the new millennium has to be this glorious Flash video. All together now… We’ve got Death Star! Death Star!

2. Crazy Life (Lego Video) – Home Free

I’m such an a cappella  enthusiast. So what if I can’t carry tune to save my life? These crooning LEGO cowboys will steal your heart and all of your Legoland Dollars. I wonder what the conversion rate is to Bitcoin…

1. ’90’s Disney – Todrick Hall ft. Shoshana Bean

What happens when you take classic Disney songs and mix them together with arguably the best decade of music? Magic.

Boom. Another list in the books. Which video was your favourite? Did I *gasp* miss a super awesome nerdy music video? Let me know in the comments below!

‘Til next time,

Rach

Screen Shot 2015-06-27 at 3.36.30 PM

6 thoughts on “TNT Thursdays: Nerdy Music Videos Edition

  1. Michelle says:

    Awesome selection! Love The Piano Guys, Home Free, Taylor Davis and Weird Al. But again, all great choices!

    Like

  2. Melia G. says:

    Those were fantastic, Rach!! Here’s another one, you may have seen it. I just saw it yesterday for the first time, I thought it was pretty good. Enjoy!

    Like

  3. annemay seyfried says:

    You are awesome! These are great! My favs. are Home Free’s Crazy Life, Todrick Hall’s Disney Medley & Taylor Davis’ Avengers Theme…. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

