TNT Thursdays: Broadway/A Cappella Edition

Hello nerds and nerdettes of the interwebs!

When my dear friend and webmistress, Roni, politely conceded after I hounded her for months to let me be a part of her awesome blog asked if I was interested in contributing, I jumped at the opportunity.

So this can go two ways, dear reader: you either think I’m crazy and click elsewhere (I won’t be terribly offended) or miracle of miracles, you like me. Personally, I prefer the latter.

And I’m even more excited that my very first post coincides with my first TNT (Top Nerdy Ten) Thursday.

Now if you’re not familiar with TNT Thursdays, it’s simply a magical experience where I get to share some of my favourite obsessions in an simple and easy to follow list carefully crafted so I don’t sound like a completely nonsensical fangirl.

To kick things off, here is a gem of a music video from one of my favourite bands.

It’s rare to find something that incorporates everything you are nerdy about in one neat and beautiful video. Needless to say, when this was released, I was in nerdy, fangirl paradise. Combining my love for musical theatre and a cappella music, the guys of VoicePlay deliver with their Aca Top 10 Broadway medley.

VoicePlay is comprised of tenors, Earl Elkins and Eli Jacobson, baritone, Tony Wakim, bass, Geoff Castellucci, and vocal percussionist/beat boxer, Layne Stein. The guys manage to flawlessly blend ten iconic tunes from some of the most popular musicals. And in case you missed it, here are the songs used the medley with links to the full versions. You’re welcome.

10. “Everyone’s A Little Bit Racist” – Avenue Q

9. “Sherry” – Jersey Boys

8. “Belle” – Beauty and the Beast

7. “Seasons of Love” – Rent

6. “Master of the House” – Les Misérables

5. “All That Jazz” – Chicago

4. “He Lives in You” – The Lion King

3. “Popular” – Wicked

2. “Phantom of the Opera” – Phantom of the Opera

1. “Hello” – Book of Mormon

I’ve been a fan of VoicePlay for more than a year and only recently got the opportunity to see them live and wow if you get the chance to see them, go do it. Bonus as evident in the video, they are hilarious and the biggest dorks. While you’re at it, go and catch all of these Broadway shows listed. Your soul will be happy even if your wallet won’t be.

Shiny link to VoicePlay’s YouTube channel -> CLICK HERE. Subscribe 🙂

So all of my Broadway nerds out there, what are your favourite musicals? Leave your comments below to state your case.

‘Til next time,
Rach

Leave a Reply

